Learners First

FROM OUR PRINCIPAL

Welcome to our school community website.

Scottsdale Primary School has approximately 300 students enrolled from Kindergarten to Grade 6. We are the largest primary school on the picturesque North East Coast of Tasmania. Our school was originally on two campuses; early childhood and primary. The early childhood campus was then relocated to the primary campus resulting in our school comprising of a mix of old and new buildings on spacious grounds.

Scottsdale Primary School prides itself on the quality of education we offer. Our school motto is ‘Aim High’ and we strive to provide an inclusive teaching and learning environment that has a strong focus on literacy, numeracy and respectful relationships. We endeavour to get each child to reach their full potential.

Our school programs begin from birth to four with our Launching into Learning initiative, Kindergarten underpinned by the Early Years Framework and Prep to Grade 6 by the Australian Curriculum Framework. Students have specialist lessons in Health and Physical Education, ICT and Music.

The wellbeing of our students is critical. We build relationships through a school wide positive behaviour support approach encompassing our three school rules of Be safe, Be fair, Show care and the Tasmanian Education Department’s values; Aspirational, Growth, Courage and Respect, which have been adopted as our school values.

Our team of dedicated and caring staff work hard to ensure that students get the most from school. If you would like to know more about us after reading the information provided here on our website, please contact us.

We look forward to meeting you and the possibility of you joining our school community.

Dawn McCauley

Term Dates 2020

Term 1 Start: Monday 3 February (teachers commence); Wednesday 5 February (students commence).

Student Free Day: Monday 3 Feb & Tuesday 4 Feb

Cup Day: Wednesday 26 Feb

Long Weekend: Monday 9 March

Term 1 Finish:  Wednesday 8 April

Student Free Day: Thursday 9 April

Easter break: 10 April – 2 April

Term 2 Start: Monday 27 April.

Long Weekend: Monday 8 June

Term 2 Finish: Friday 3 July

Student Free Day Monday 20 July

Term 3 Start: Tuesday 21 July

Term 3 Finish: Friday 25 September

Term 4 Start: Monday 12 October

Student Free Day: Friday 30 October

Long Weekend: Monday 2 November

Term 4 Finish: Thursday 17 December (students finish);  Friday 18 December (teachers finish)